< Brief History Of the Department
  • Philosophy
  • Brief History of the Theriogenology & Production Department

    The Department of Theriogenology and Production is one of the new academic Departments in the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine of Ahmadu Bello University. It was created out of the defunct Department of Veterinary Surgery and Medicine on the recommendations of the National Universities Commission (NUC) and Veterinary Council of Nigeria (VCN). The department formally came into being on April 17, 2012 when the first Acting Head of Department, Dr. Iyorhemba Utim Ate, FCVSN was appointed by the Vice Chancellor to kick start its take-off. The Department is housed in one arm of the phase II building of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. It is one of the 10 Departments that make up the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine which runs a mono – degree programme at the undergraduate level. The Department is currently headed by Dr Agnes Ifeyinwa NWANNENNA. Currently, the Department has 4 Units, namely: -Veterinary Obstetrics and Gynaecology -Veterinary Andrology, Artificial Insemination and Reproductive Biotechnology -Reproductive Herd Health and Production and -Reproductive Endocrinology. The Department offers the Degrees of Master of Science (M.Sc.) and Doctor of Philosophy. The National Animal Production Research Institute (NAPRI) and the Veterinary Teaching Hospital (VTH) are also integrated with the department in student training. .